Home

Before I begin, this disclaimer: I have nothing against classical conservative political thought; it’s a valid part of public dialogue. I do have a problem with the brand of conservatism we have today, which is not conservative at all, but radical — the opposite of actual conservatism.

So, okay, help me understand this: the right-wing conservatives that are seen in the media are usually also conservative Christians. How the Hell (oops, sorry, I “cussed”…wait, no I’m not) can these people be both?

Conservative political philosophy wants as little government invasion in our lives as possible.

Conservative Christians want public policy based on (their version of) Christianity — so they want the state to tell us what we’re allowed to do and not do at work, in public, health choices and in our own homes.

Sure, politics makes strange bedfellows, but this is gene splicing. They’re like Ray Milland and Rosie Greer in “The Thing with Two Heads”  (oops again, some conservatives may not like that comparison…one head was white, one black…miscegenation)

But this marrying (hetero, of course) of the two streams of conservatism fails my political litmus test, which is: Don’t piss in my ear and tell me it’s raining.

Either you believe the government should stay out of our lives, or you believe government should decide how we live.  You can’t have your cake and dictate how it’s eaten too.

Another point of divergence: the amalgamated conservatives are almost always Republicans. Republicans currently can’t find a social assistance program they don’t want to cut to the bone in order to afford tax cuts for the wealthy. Take from those in need and give to those who don’t need anything. How exactly does this jibe with Jesus’ advocacy for the needy? The GOP are kissing the feet of the rich, not washing the feet of the poor.

How does a believing Christian support a political movement that adds burdens to the disenfranchised?

I’m not being facetious (<fah-see-shus> look it up, they have dictionaries online).  Can someone, without filling the blogosphere with empty slogans, Glen Beck talking points or schoolyard name-calling, explain to me how this makes any sense?

I’ll re-visit this again when there’s feedback. Find me at The Real Ed the Sock or Ed_thesock on Facebook.

I’m Ed the Sock. And I’m nobody’s puppet.

2 thoughts on “Conservatives Have Strange Bedfellows

  1. Consider yourself fed back. Always loved your commentary. Is it strange that the majority of people in the U.S. who vote for the people keeping them down don’t see any of this? Or do you think they refuse to acknowledge it because of the “values” preached to them by these politicians?

    By the way, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t it fah-see-shus?

  2. No, I think that the majority of Americans buy into the notion that they, too, will someday be rich, so they don’t want the rich taxed because it will affect them. Too many of them also like supporting the winning side, unaware that the side is winning because the other side (them) are supporting them.

    There’s an interesting book called “What’s the Matter with Kansas” by Thomas Frank on the subject of how Americans (and now Canadians too) are being convinced to vote against their own best interests.

    And yeah, I caught that typo, fixed it, then for some reason it reverted. Whatever, I fixed it again.

Leave a Reply

